The following 31 states and the District of Columbia currently have enacted their own false claims acts:

Arkansas California  Colorado  Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia
Florida Georgia Hawaii Illinois Indiana Iowa
 Louisiana Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota  Montana
Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina
Oklahoma Rhode Island Tennessee Texas Vermont Virginia
Washington Wisconsin

Most of the state false claims acts are modeled after the federal False Claims Act, and provide that qui tam whistleblowers can bring claims on behalf of the state. There are, however, important differences between these state false claims acts, and potential whistleblowers must pay careful attention to the specific requirements of each statute. In addition, many times fraudulent schemes can impact the federal government and multiple state governments. Our attorneys have substantial experience successfully coordinating and litigating false claims cases that impact the federal and multiple state governments.

The number of state false claims acts is likely to continue to grow. In 2005, the Congress passed financial incentives for states to pass false claims acts that are modeled after the federal False Claims Act. These financial incentives have caused a flurry of activity in state legislatures across the United States, and have been a primary reason behind the passage of several new state false claims acts.